VHIS

Skip to main content

About VHIS

Introduction

Insurance companies participating in the VHIS (“VHIS Providers”) offer individual indemnity hospital insurance plans that are certified by FHB to comply with the minimum requirements of the scheme in product design (“Certified Plans”). Moreover, VHIS Providers must comply with a set of Code of Practices covering sales and marketing, handling of applications, after-sales services, etc.
It is a free choice of consumers whether to buy Certified Plans or not. To assist informed choice, comprehensive product and premium information of Certified Plans can be obtained on this website and the website of the insurance companies concerned.
Objectives
Enhance the protection level of hospital insurance products
Provide the public with an additional choice of using private healthcare services through hospital insurance
Relieve the pressure on the public healthcare system in the long run

Key Features of Certified Plans

Greater protection and transparency
Guaranteed renewal up to the age of 100 years
irrespective of change in your health condition after policy inception
No “lifetime benefit limit”
your benefits will be continued until you reach 100 years of age*
Cooling-off period of 21 days
during which you can cancel your policy with full refund of premium
Premium transparency
with premium schedule easily accessible on this website and websites of insurance companies
Coverage extended to include
Unknown pre-existing conditions
will be partially covered in 2nd year (25%) and 3rd year (50%) after policy inception and fully covered (100%) afterwards
Treatment of congenital conditions
which have manifested or been diagnosed since the age of 8 will be covered
Day case procedures
such as endoscopy conducted in day centres will be covered
Prescribed diagnostic imaging tests
such as Computed Tomography (CT scan), Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI scan) and Positron Emission Tomography (PET scan) conducted during hospital stay or in an outpatient setting will be covered, subject to 30% coinsurance
Prescribed non-surgical cancer treatments
such as radiotherapy, chemotherapy and targeted therapy will be covered
Psychiatric inpatient treatments in local hospitals
will be covered up to the limit of HK$30,000 per policy year
(*) Some Flexi Plans that meet specified criteria can have lifetime benefit limits.

VHIS Providers

All insurance companies must be successfully registered with FHB as VHIS Providers (and obtain a registration number) before they can offer Certified Plans in the market.
As in the case of all insurance businesses, the insurance companies participating in VHIS are subject to the supervision and regulation of the Insurance Authority under the Insurance Ordinance. In addition, the insurance companies registered as VHIS Providers are required to comply with the rules of the scheme, including the product compliance rules and the code of practice.

Meaning of VHIS Policy

An insurance policy includes one or more covers, which usually refer to one or more insurance plans. An insurance plan becomes a “Certified Plan” when it fulfills the VHIS requirements and is certified by the Food and Health Bureau.
An insurance policy becomes a “VHIS Policy” when it is in whole or in part issued under a Certified Plan.
If a VHIS Policy is in whole issued under a Certified Plan, it means that the insurance policy consists of terms and benefits concerning the Certified Plan only. Under this circumstance, the entire VHIS Policy is subject to the scheme rules of VHIS, and the total premiums paid for the VHIS Policy is eligible for tax deduction in accordance with the relevant tax laws. If a VHIS Policy is in part issued under a Certified Plan, it means that in addition to terms and benefits of the Certified Plan, the VHIS Policy also consists of terms and benefits concerning another insurance plan(s), for instance where the Certified Plan serves as a medical rider to a life insurance plan. Under this circumstance, only that part of the VHIS Policy related to the Certified Plan is subject to the scheme rules of VHIS, and only the premiums paid for the Certified Plan are eligible for tax deduction in accordance with the relevant tax laws.
For ease of identification, the pages relevant to the Certified Plan in each VHIS Policy have a footer stating that “the content on this page is part of the Terms and Benefits of Certified Plan (<Certification Number>)”. Besides, the premium payment record issued by the insurance companies is required to indicate clearly the premiums paid in respect of Certified Plan.

Tax Deduction

The premiums paid for a VHIS Policy is eligible for the tax deduction under the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap.112). If a VHIS Policy provides both Certified Plan coverage and other insurance protection, only the premiums in relation to the Certified Plan are eligible for the tax deduction.

自願醫保計劃

跳至主要內容

關於自願醫保計劃

計劃簡介

參與自願醫保的保險公司(「自願醫保的產品提供者」)提供由食物及衞生局認可並符合計劃最低要求的個人償款住院保險產品(「認可產品」)。此外,自願醫保的產品提供者必須遵守涵蓋銷售和推廣、處理投保申請和售後服務等的實務守則。
消費者可以自由選擇是否購買認可產品。為幫助消費者作出明智選擇,有關認可產品的產品及保費資料可於本網站和相關保險公司的網站查閱。
自願醫保計劃的目標
提升住院保險產品的保障水平
為市民提供多一個選擇, 透過住院保險而使用私營醫療服務
長遠可望減低公立醫院壓力

認可產品的主要產品特點

更高的保障及透明度
保證續保至100歲
無論於保單生效後您的健康狀況有任何變化
不設「終身保障限額」
您的保障會持續至您年滿100歲*
21日冷靜期
期間您可取消保單並全數取回已付保費
保費透明度
可於本網站及保險公司網頁查閱保費表
保障範圍擴展至包括
投保時未知的已有疾病
保單生效日後提供部分賠償(第二年25%、第三年50%),其後提供全面賠償(100%)
先天性疾病治療
保障範圍包括於年滿8歲或以後出現或確診的先天性疾病
日間手術
例如在日間診療中心進行的內窺鏡包括在保障範圍內
訂明診斷成像檢測
例如電腦斷層掃描、磁力共振掃描及正電子放射斷層掃描包括在保障範圍內( 設有30%的共同保險)
訂明非手術癌症治療
例如放射性治療、化療、標靶治療包括在保障範圍內
在本港醫院進行的精神科住院治療
包括在保障範圍內,每保單年度可獲最高30,000港元賠償
(*) 部分符合指定要求的靈活計劃可設有終身保障限額。

自願醫保的產品提供者

所有保險公司在市場上提供認可產品前,必須先向食物及衞生局成功註冊為自願醫保的產品提供者(及取得註冊編號)。
正如所有其他保險業務一樣,所有自願醫保的產品提供者均受保險業監管局根據《保險業條例》的監督及規管。此外,自願醫保的產品提供者必須遵守計劃所訂的規則,包括產品合規要求及實務守則。

自願醫保保單的定義

一張保險保單可包含一個或多於一個保險產品保障(通常指一個或多於一個保險產品)。一個保險產品若符合自願醫保的要求並得到食物及衞生局的認可,便成為「認可產品」。
一張保險保單如全部或部分根據認可產品簽發,便成為「自願醫保保單」。
如果一張自願醫保保單全部根據認可產品簽發,該保險保單只包含與認可產品有關的條款及保障。在此情況下,整張自願醫保保單須符合自願醫保的要求,而就自願醫保保單繳付的全部保費可根據相關稅例申請稅務扣除。 如果一張自願醫保保單只是部分根據認可產品簽發,即除認可產品的條款及保障外,該自願醫保保單也包含其他保險產品有關的條款及保障,例如認可產品可作爲一個人壽保險產品的附加醫療保障。在此情況下,自願醫保保單中僅與認可產品有關的部分須符合自願醫保的要求,而只有就認可產品部分繳付的保費才可根據相關稅例申請稅務扣除。
為便於識別,每一張自願醫保保單中與認可產品相關的頁數均設有頁尾註腳,指明「本頁內容屬於自願醫保認可產品(<編號>)的條款及保障」。此外,保險公司發出的保費繳付記錄必須明確註明為認可產品繳付的保費。

稅務扣除

就自願醫保計劃保單所繳交之保費,根據《稅務條例》(第112章)可申請稅務扣除。如自願醫保計劃保單提供認可產品範圍及其他保險保障,只有就認可產品所付的合資格保費申請稅務扣除。